purelosa.blogg.se

Do playing darkest dungeon mods disable achievements
Do playing darkest dungeon mods disable achievements






The conclusion is: preventing a modded game from getting achievements does absolutely nothing to prevent achievements from being obtained by cheaters but it does prevent people who want to improve their gaming experience from gaining them. I could go even further, one could download a savegame right before the achievement trigger (I personally have some for the currently bugged achievements, only I checked a list of achievements and rushed there myself, still, I could give them to someone else)

do playing darkest dungeon mods disable achievements

Cheat engine is MUCH more efficient than any of the mods currently available. Not to mention that if someone actually wants to cheat achievements there's absolutelly nothing Larian can do about it. This is not an MMO or a competitive game, one player cheating doesn't ruin another player's experience. The problem with that "middlergound" is: why would developers care if players cheat on their game? Yet, when the message pops up, I feel discouraged as I feel I reduce the game to add more. I too would like to see achievements available to mods, as I'm working on a huge one but me myself finds it as weakening the "appeal" to play without achievements, that being said as I don't care a drop about achievements on Steam myself. It seems like a middleground, but not available at this time I think. If enough flags are given, it's highlighted for developers to review (this way to not require developers to have to review every single mod.) and decide upon it. And players can flag the mod as "cheat" if they so feel that way. So it's definitely a per-game decision.Ī more optimal solution or at least a tool to choose to use, to have achievements enabled in workshop but able to be moderated by the developer.

do playing darkest dungeon mods disable achievements

For each thread of thought, they always tend to conclude at this, although it's more up to Valve and Steam to give the developers the toolkit to do this:Īt first I thought maybe it's a Steam policy, but then with a quick google search I found other games on steam allowing mods with achievements, Darkest Dungeon to mention one for reference.

do playing darkest dungeon mods disable achievements

I've actually been contemplating this topic quite a while.








Do playing darkest dungeon mods disable achievements